Paula Tippett - Gwithian Beach Cornwall.

South West England

19th September - 2nd October

The final leg of the Relay is South West England which includes Cornwall, Somerset, Gloucestershire, Devon, Bristol, Dorset and Wiltshire. A popular holiday destination, the South West is geographically the largest area of the UK and has the longest coastline of all the English regions. It is home to two entire National Parks - Exmoor and Dartmoor and the UKs longest and best-loved National Trail - the South West Coast Path. Running for 630 miles from Minehead on the edge of Exmoor to Poole Harbour, the South West Coast Path is regularly described as one of the world's greatest walks and passes through a number of National Nature Reserves and Heritage Coasts, five Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, two World Heritage Sites, a UNESCO designated Biosphere reserve and a Geopark, as well as one National Park.

The region is also home to large parts of The Cotswolds - an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) and has the advantage of major cities such as Bristol and Bath where rich history and culture meets modern vibes. 

For walkers and horse riders there are endless opportunities to get out to do what you love most, with vast expanses of open moors, pretty hills and an incredible 700 miles of dramatic coastline, the South West boasts numerous trails with a visible rich history left behind by our ancestors.

Claire Wilkinson - Somerset.jpg

Useful local information

South West England Tourist Board www.visitsouthwest.co.uk

South West Coast Path www.southwestcoastpath.co.uk

Visit England - South West www.visitengland.com

Visit Cornwall www.visitcornwall.com

Visit Somerset www.visitsomerset.co.uk

Visit Gloucestershire www.visitgloucestershire.co.uk

Visit Devon www.visitdevon.co.uk

Visit Bristol www.visitbristol.co.uk

Visit Dorset www.visit-dorset.com

Visit Wiltshire www.visitwiltshire.co.uk

Cotswolds Tourist Information www.cotswolds.com

Visit Exmoor www.visit-exmoor.co.uk

Visit Dartmoor www.visitdartmoor.co.uk

Riding in the South West of England

South West Riders suggested rides and walks Suggested Rides and Walks. | SOUTH WEST RIDERS

Horse riding in Dartmoor National Park www.dartmoor.gov.uk

Ride Dartmoor - A Guide to Horse Riding on Dartmoor www.ridedartmoor.co.uk

Horse riding in Exmoor National Park www.exmoor-nationalpark.gov.uk

Horse riding in The Cotswolds www.cotswoldsaonb.org.uk

Horse riding in Cornwall www.visitcornwall.com

Five brilliant beach rides in Cornwall www.lisasnotebook.com

Horse riding in Dorset www.localriding.com

Horse riding in Somerset  www.localriding.com

Horse riding in Devon www.localriding.com

More information and some fun facts

  • Walking the entire South West Coast Path is the equivalent of scaling Mount Everest four times and the average time it takes to walk is seven or eight weeks!

  • Salisbury Cathedral is unusual in that it was built within a single century, has the tallest spire (123m/404ft), largest cloisters and largest cathedral close (80 acres) in Britain.

  • Devon has more road than any other county in England – 8,000 miles in fact

  • Graffiti artist Banksy is from Bristol, his work can still be seen at sites across the city

  • Like New York, Bristol is both a city and county.

  • Wadworth Brewery still use traditional Shire Horses to deliver all of the beer locally within a 2.5 mile radius

  • Exmoor ponies are believed to have inhabited the moors for tens of thousands of years. There have been fossil remains found in the area that dates them back to 50,000 BC and there are some that claim they have been present there since the Ice Age. There is also a record of ponies on Exmoor in the Domesday Book of 1086.

  • The biggest ice cream factory in the UK is the Walls factory in Gloucester

  • The Cotswolds’ network of drystone walls is the same length as the Great Wall of China.

  • A team of bakers from Bodmin, Cornwall, hold the record for baking the biggest Cornish pasty.  It weighed 1900 pounds and had a whopping 1,750,000 calories.

  • The traditional language in Cornwall is known as Kernewek (or Kernowek) which comes from the Celtic language family. Declared in 1777 as extinct as a language, Kernewek has been making a revival in recent history. Some schools in Cornwall now teach it as a second language, and some people are even bring up their children bilingually.

Horses4Health organised events

South West rides and events coming soon. please keep checking this page for more information.

Local riding routes

More information on riding routes coming soon.